Diplomat of the Year Awards

Envoys from both Russia and Ukraine were recognised this year in the Diplomat of the Year awards. Russian Ambassador Alexander Yakovenko won Best Ambassador (Eurasia) while DPAAL Vice President Oksana Kyzyma, was voted press attaché of the year.

The European gong went to the popular High Commissioner for Cyprus Euripides Evriviades while Ethiopian Ambassador Ato Berhanu Kebede got the African honours.

The Ambassador of the UAE Mr Ghanim Al Mutaiwee was a deserving winner for the Middle East, while the Ambassador of Honduras and energetic Dean of GRULA, Mr Ivan Romero-Martinez received the Latin American award.

The High Commissioner for St Kitts & Nevis Dr Kevin Isaac won for North America/Caribbean and The Philippines Ambas Mr Enrique Manalo came top in Asia.

Special awards went to the Ambassador of Morocco Princess Lalla Joumala for her distinguished contribution to diplomacy in London; and Christiaan Sys, consul at the Belgian Embassy and president of the Consular Corps of London, who was voted Young Diplomat of the Year.