Diplomat of the Year Awards

The Czech Embassy walked away with two gongs at this year’s Diplomat Awards. The late Ambassador Jan Winkler was posthumously awarded Diplomat of the Year for Europe, while deputy ambassador Miroslav Kolatek was recognised for his stewardship of the mission following the death of his Ambassador at the start of their EU Presidency.

Other diplomats recognised for their achievements included the High Commissioner of Singapore Michael Teo (Asia); Canadian High Commissioner James Wright (North America and Caribbean), the Ambassador of Peru, Ricardo Luna (South America), Ugandan High Commissioner Joan Rwabyomere (Africa) and Mr Abdulmuhaimen Al-Oraibi, the Chargé d’Affaires of Iraq (Middle East).

Mr Laleshwar Singh, the long-serving High Commissioner for Guyana, was recognised for his distinguished contribution to diplomacy, while Belgian consul Guy van Glabeke won an award for his service in the Consular Corps and Neil Heilbraun from the US Embassy was voted best junior diplomat.

Consular Corps President Guy van Glabeke won
an award for services to the consular corps